6. Deleting Archived Files

Archive clients have the ability to delete archived files held on the TSM Archive server. Care should obviously be exercised when using this option as data deleted can not under any circumstances be recovered.

Nevertheless, there may be circumstances where temporary versions of files have been archived and can now be safely deleted. To do, from the TSM GUI main screen, choose the [Utilities] menu and then choose the Delete Archive Data option. TSM will now display a screen identical to the initial Retrieve window with archived files organised under their descriptions.

Files and directories may be selected as when retrieving files:

TSM Archive Delete Screen

Having selected the objects to delete, clicking the Delete button will cause the user to be prompted for confirmation of the deletion. Once started, the process is irreversible.

Up: Contents Previous: 5. Retrieve Options Next: 7. Changing your TSM Password