1. Introduction

This section provides an introduction to archiving files on a Mac platform using the TSM GUI interface and how to retrieve files back to the local machine.

2. Archiving Selected Files & Directories

To archive multiple files and/or directories, start the TSM Tools for Administrators program from the TSMArchive Application folder. You should see the following menu appear:

TSM Archive Startup Menu

Choose the OK button, then enter your local administrator password at the next screen. Finally, enter the TSM Archive account password when prompted. The main screen of the TSM GUI should display and you should click the Archive button. The first time you access your HFS Archive account, a screen as below will display:

TSM Archive Conversion screen

This is a one-time feature that displays only on the first access to the Archive account. Click the Yes and the initial TSM Archive screen as below will display.

TSM Archive first screen

Expand the view of local partitions by clicking the arrow adjacent to the Local entry.

TSM Archive partitions screen

The folder tree can be expanded by clicking the arrow adjacent to a folder. Files in a a folder can be displayed in the right-hand window by clicking the folder name. Files and folders can be selected by clicking the grey selector boxes as displayed below.

TSM Archive selected files and folders

Having selected the files and folders to archive, ensure the correct Description is selected. By default this displays as Archive Date: dd-mm-yyyy. To archive the objects under an existing Description, expand the drop-down list to the right and choose from the displayed list.

Alternatively, a new description may be entered by typing directly in the Description field, as below.

TSM Archive Description field

Now Click the Archive button. The Task List screen will next display as the TSM client constructs a list of local files and inspects them against a list on the server. Files will then be archived as illustrated below.

TSM Archive Task List

The archive can be halted at any time by clicking the red circle button in the Task List window. A Detailed Status Report, as illustrated below, can be displayed by clicking the centre button in the Task List window.

TSM Archive Status Report

Closing the Detailed Status Report while the archive is running returns focus to the Task List window above. Closing it when the archive is complete returns focus to the front window of the TSM GUI.

3. Archive Options

From the TSM GUI main screen click the Archive button, then click the Options button. The default options are illustrated below but can be changed for the duration of the current archive session. Clicking the [Compress objects] check box will considerably slow the archive and is not recommended. Equally, it is not recommended that the [Delete files after Archive] option is selected: see the section Local File Deletion in Initial Considerations before using Archive & Retrieve for further details.

Clicking the Help will display help specific to the available options. The default values are generally fine for most uses.

TSM Archive Options

4. Retrieving Selected Files & Directories

The interface for file Retrieve differs from that of Archive. From the TSM GUI main screen choose the Retrieve button. The window will now display a list of all the descriptions under which files have been archived.

Retrieve Description list

Clicking the arrow adjacent to the description text will cause the directory structure under which files have been archived to display. The directory structure can further be expanded by clicking the arrows. A list of archived files will be displayed under each directory expanded by clicking the directory name.

Retrieve File list

Individual directories and files can be selected and deselected by clicking the grey selector boxes, as displayed below.

Selected Retrieve File list

Clicking the Retrieve button causes the following screen to display.

Retrieve Target Location Screen

By default, files will be retrieved to their original location. This may not be what you want, particularly when retrieving several (older) versions of a file as each version will overwrite the previously retrieved version.

If you wish to store the retrieved files in a location other than their original, click the Following location radio button and then the Select button to select a destination folder to which you wish to have the files retrieved. The path options control what directory structure to use for retrieved files and directories. The default is Retrieve partial path. Clicking for help on these options will give worked examples of how they effect the retrieve path. Remember when retrieving a large number of large files, to ensure that there is enough space to hold the retrieved files.

Clicking the Retrieve button will execute the retrieval process. A Task List Window will display which may be expanded to a Detailed Status Report window. These windows share the same appearance and functionality as in the Archiving select files & directories section.

5. Retrieve Options

From the TSM GUI main screen click the Retrieve button, then click the Options button to display the current options for Retrieve. The default options are illustrated below but can be changed for the duration of the current retrieve session. Clicking Help will give explanations to the available options.

TSM Retrieve Options

6. Deleting Archived Files

Archive clients have the ability to delete archived files held on the TSM Archive server. Care should obviously be exercised when using this option as data deleted can not under any circumstances be recovered.

Nevertheless, there may be circumstances where temporary versions of files have been archived and can now be safely deleted. To do, from the TSM GUI main screen, choose the [Utilities] menu and then choose the Delete Archive Data option. TSM will now display a screen identical to the initial Retrieve window with archived files organised under their descriptions.

Files and directories may be selected as when retrieving files:

TSM Archive Delete Screen

Having selected the objects to delete, clicking the Delete button will cause the user to be prompted for confirmation of the deletion. Once started, the process is irreversible.

7. Changing your TSM Password

You should change the password given to you by Registration as soon as you have successfully logged into the TSM hub window to something more meaningful to you. Remember that your password represents the security of your archives. Anyone who learns your password can damage your archives so choose one difficult to guess, and keep it to yourself. The initial letters of some phrase of significance to yourself is often a good choice. TSM passwords are case independent. In addition to letters and digits they can contain the characters + - _ . & (plus, minus, underscore, point, ampersand); a password must be between 6 and 63 characters long. To change your TSM password, start the TSM Backup program. From the initial window choose the Utilities menu and select the [Change Password...] option. The following screen will be displayed:

TSM Archive Change Password Screen

Enter your current password, then enter your new password twice and click the Change button.