7. Deleting Archived Files

Archive clients have the ability to delete archived files held on the TSM Archive server. Care should obviously be exercised when using this option as data deleted can not under any circumstances be recovered.

Nevertheless, there may be circumstances where temporary versions of files have been archived and can now be safely deleted. To do this start the TSM GUI and from the Utilities menu choose the [Delete Archive Data] option. TSM will now display a screen identical to the initial Retrieve window with archived files organised under their descriptions.

Files and directories may be selected via a similar interface as when retrieving files: see Retrieving selected files & directories. Having selected the objects to delete, clicking the Delete button will cause the user to be prompted for confirmation of the deletion.

Up: Contents Previous: 6. Retrieve Options Next: 8. Changing your TSM Password