8.2. Why do I need to remove the software - is deregistering not enough?

There are three reasons why we recommend that you remove the TSM Software if you no longer wish to back up:
  • There is a licensing implication: TSM licences are arranged for Oxford University members, and so the licence that you use is linked with your association with the university. When you leave, the license is no longer valid.
  • Some older versions of TSM are subject to security vulnerabilities, and new vulnerabilities are occasionally discovered also. So, leaving TSM on your machine is a possible security risk - it is best uninstalled.
  • Installations of TSM left installed will continue to try to contact the HFS servers if the TSM scheduler is left running (which is the case by default). Deregistered TSM installations try to contact the HFS dozens or even hundreds of times a day looking for the deleted TSM account, unnecessarily using up limited HFS resources.

Up: Contents Previous: 8.1. Why do I need to deregister my node when I leave?