- I'm restoring to a new machine as I'm upgrading my system/my system has crashed:
- see restoring to a new machine.
- I want to restore some files from backup:
- see restoring files and folders.
- I've deleted some files and need to restore them:
- see recovering previous versions/deleted data.
- I would like to revert back to a previous version of a file that I've been working on:
- see recovering previous versions/deleted data.
Below are instructions for restoring data using the Graphical User Interface (GUI) on Linux. For how to use the command line interface to restore data, please also refer to our page on using the TSM client command line interface.
If you are upgrading to a new machine, using the TSM client software to move your data from one machine to another can be a convenient way to move data to the new machine. If you can no longer access the data on your old machine (e.g. because it has been lost or stolen, or because its hard drive is no longer working) then a TSM restore is the way to get your data back. In either case, before proceeding, please read our page on how to recover your entire system.
The first thing to check is that you are moving data between two similar operating systems. For example, between two different versions of Linux is not likely to be problematic; but TSM does not support cross-platform restores, so you cannot restore Windows or Mac data to Linux. If you are moving between different types of operating systems please contact firstname.lastname@example.org and let us know what you are trying to achieve; we will then advise you on the best course of action.
If possible, ensure that you have an up-to-date backup of the old machine - this can be done by following the instructions for running a manual backup on Linux.
Contact email@example.com, mentioning this web page, to ask the HFS Team to rename your old data set that you want to restore from. This is so that you do not accidentally back up your new machine's data in the same space: that would mark your old, wanted data for deletion.
You will need to access the old data set in your TSM account, for which you will need your TSM password. So, if you do not remember the password for your TSM account, or if the account is over a year old (in which case the password will have been automatically reset by TSM), browse to the TSM self-registration page and select the option 'Change client password' for the TSM nodename of the account that you want to restore data from.
To restore the data from your TSM account to the new machine, you need to run TSM on Linux. So next, follow our instructions for installing the TSM client for Linux to install TSM on your new machine. Use the nodename of the TSM account where your old data set is held.
- You will now see a normal TSM client view and you can follow the normal instructions for restoring files and folders - However, please note these limitations:
Now please follow the instructions for restoring files and folders.
If you have restored to a new machine then there are some tasks that need to be completed: only perform these tasks when you have finished restoring data from the old node, and it is no longer required.
Tidying up the new node
- Please contact firstname.lastname@example.org when you are finished restoring and have backed up your new machine, so that the HFS Team know that they may delete the old data set.
Tidying up the old node
- Remove the TSM client by following the TSM removal instructions; this will not apply if the machine crashed/failed and cannot be used.
If you have deleted a file from your machine that had previously been backed up then it may well still be available to restore. Similarly, if you have modified and saved a file which has subsequently been backed up, then you may still be able to restore the earlier version of the file.
Now please go to the following section, restoring files and folders, and follow point 4 onwards.
For more information on active/inactive files please see our FAQ item What are active and inactive files?.
- Highlight the files and folders you wish to restore by ticking the grey boxes next to them (ticking the folders automatically selects all the files and sub folders underneath them).
If you can't see some files you were expecting to see then this may be because they are inactive - that is, deleted prior to your last backup. If such files appear to be missing then click on
[View]and then chose
[Display active/inactive files](see further 3. Recovering previous versions/deleted data).
- The number of files inspected and restored should be identical, and the number of those failed should be zero.
- If the number of files failed is greater than zero, then please review the section below titled 5. More information about restoring data to check for your error message(s).
- If the number of files failed items is zero, then this indicates a successful restore of your data.
If you have restored to a new machine then there are some tasks that need to be completed: please see the section 2.1. Tidying up after restoring to a new machine.
Restoring Data FAQ (See all FAQs)
- I can't see my files, but I'm sure they were backed up.
- My machine has crashed - can I perform a system restore?
- Why can I not restore my data back to the same location when restoring to a new machine?
- What are active and inactive files?
- What are point-in-time restores, and how can I use them?
- If your restore fails to complete, please see:
- Error "File Not Found" when attempting to restore data.
- Message "File Already Exists" followed by "File is Read Only - Force Overwrite".