3. Recovering previous versions/deleted data

If you have deleted a file from your machine that had previously been backed up then it may well still be available to restore. Similarly, if you have modified and saved a file which has subsequently been backed up, then you may still be able to restore the earlier version of the file.

  1. Run [Applications] > [Tivoli Storage Manager] > [TSM Tools for Administrators]. (You must use the TSM Tools for Administrators menu - if not then you may not be able to see all your files for restore.)

  2. You will be asked for your local administrator password.

  3. The restore window will appear, giving you a choice of areas to restore from.

  4. Click on [View] and then chose [Display active/inactive files].

  5. You will be told that 'Changing criteria will cause the current selections to be lost'. Click Yes.

  6. You will now be able to see files both active and inactive files - inactive files can be identified by the "x" next to them.

    Figure 1.
  7. Now please go to the following section, restoring files and folders, and follow point 4 onwards.

For more information on active/inactive files please see our FAQ item What are active and inactive files?.

Up: Contents Previous: 2. Restoring to a new machine Next: 4. Restoring files and folders