IT Services



Restoring Data with the TSM Client for the Mac


Contents



1. Why are you restoring data?

N.B. If you are restoring on Mac OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion) please see how to configure Mac OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion) sleep settings for backup and restore before continuing.

So that we can provide you with the best advice, please select the reason that you want to restore from the following list:

I'm restoring to a new machine as I'm upgrading my system/my system has crashed:
see restoring to a new machine.
I want to restore some files from backup:
see restoring files and folders.
I've deleted some files and need to restore them:
see recovering previous versions/deleted data.
I would like to revert back to a previous version of a file that I've been working on:
see recovering previous versions/deleted data.


2. Restoring to a new machine

Below are instructions for restoring data using the Graphical User Interface (GUI) on a Mac. For how to use the command line interface to restore data, please also refer to our page on using the TSM client command line interface.

If you are upgrading to a new machine, using the TSM client software to move your data from one machine to another can be a convenient way to move data to the new machine. If you can no longer access the data on your old machine (e.g. because it has been lost or stolen, or because its hard drive is no longer working) then a TSM restore is the way to get your data back. In either case, before proceeding, please read our page on how to recover your entire system.

The first thing to check is that you are moving data between two similar operating systems. For example, moving data from a Mac OS X 10.5 machine to a Mac OS X 10.6 machine is not likely to be problematic; but TSM does not support cross-platform restores, so you cannot restore Windows or Linux data to a Mac. If you are moving between different types of operating systems please contact hfs@ox.ac.uk and let us know what you are trying to achieve; we will then advise you on the best course of action.

If you are moving between two similar Mac operating systems then please do the following:

  1. If possible, ensure that you have an up-to-date backup of the old machine - this can be done by following the instructions for running a manual backup on a Mac.

  2. Contact hfs@ox.ac.uk, mentioning this web page, to ask the HFS Team to rename your old data set that you want to restore from. This is so that you do not accidentally back up your new machine's data in the same space: that would mark your old, wanted data for deletion.

  3. Once you have heard that the old data set has been set aside, you can proceed with the restore.

  4. You will need to access the old data set in your TSM account, for which you will need your TSM password. So, if you do not remember the password for your TSM account, or if the account is over a year old (in which case the password will have been automatically reset by TSM), browse to the TSM self-registration page and select the option 'Change client password' for the TSM nodename of the account that you want to restore data from.

  5. To restore the data from your TSM account to the new machine, you need to run TSM on a Mac. So next, follow our instructions for installing the TSM client for the Mac to install TSM on your new machine. Use the nodename of the TSM account where your old data set is held.

  6. On the new machine where you have installed TSM with your TSM account name, run TSM: go [Applications] > [TSM Tools for Administrators] > [Tivoli Storage Manager]. (You must use the TSM Tools for Administrators menu - if not then you may not be able to see all your files for restore.)

  7. You will now see a normal TSM client view and you can follow the normal instructions for restoring files and folders - However, please note these limitations:
    • Depending on the location of the files that you want to restore, you may not be able to "Restore files to their current location";
    • You will be able to select "Restore files to an alternative location".
  8. Now please follow the instructions for restoring files and folders.



2.1. Tidying up after restoring to a new machine

If you have restored to a new machine then there are some tasks that need to be completed: only perform these tasks when you have finished restoring data from the old node, and it is no longer required.

Tidying up the new node

Tidying up the old node



3. Recovering previous versions/deleted data

If you have deleted a file from your machine that had previously been backed up then it may well still be available to restore. Similarly, if you have modified and saved a file which has subsequently been backed up, then you may still be able to restore the earlier version of the file.

  1. Run [Applications] > [Tivoli Storage Manager] > [TSM Tools for Administrators]. (You must use the TSM Tools for Administrators menu - if not then you may not be able to see all your files for restore.)

    Figure /hfs/help/images/mac-TSMadmin.png []

  2. You will be asked for your local administrator password.

    Figure /hfs/help/images/mac-TSMadmin-pass.png []

  3. The restore window will appear, giving you a choice of areas to restore from.

  4. Click on [View] and then chose [Display active/inactive files].

  5. You will be told that 'Changing criteria will cause the current selections to be lost'. Click Yes.

    Figure /hfs/help/images/mac-criteria.png []

  6. You will now be able to see files both active and inactive files - inactive files can be identified by the "x" next to them.

    Figure /hfs/help/images/mac-restore1.png []

  7. Now please go to the following section, restoring files and folders, and follow point 4 onwards.

For more information on active/inactive files please see our FAQ item What are active and inactive files?.



4. Restoring files and folders

In order to restore selected files and folders please follow these instructions:

  1. Run [Applications] > [Tivoli Storage Manager] > [TSM Tools for Administrators]. (You must use the TSM Tools for Administrators menu - if not then you may not be able to see all your files for restore.)

    Figure /hfs/help/images/mac-TSMadmin.png []

  2. Select [Tivoli Storage Manager] and click OK. You will be asked for your local administrator password.

    Figure /hfs/help/images/mac-TSMadmin-pass.png []

  3. The restore window will appear, giving you a choice of areas to restore from.

  4. Under the nodename, click on the triangular arrow next to File Level to expand it, and do the same again on the partitions from which you wish to restore data.

  5. Highlight the files and folders you wish to restore by ticking the grey boxes next to them (ticking the folders automatically selects all the files and sub folders underneath them).
    • If you can't see some files you were expecting to see then this may be because they are inactive - that is, deleted prior to your last backup. If such files appear to be missing then click on [View] and then chose [Display active/inactive files] (see further 3. Recovering previous versions/deleted data).

      Figure /hfs/help/images/mac-restore2.png []

  6. When you have selected all the files/folders that you wish to restore, click on Restore.

  7. You will now be prompted either to restore to the original location or to select a new location.

    Figure /hfs/help/images/mac-restore3.png []

  8. Browse to the chosen location and click OK.

  9. A task list will appear while the restore takes place:

    Figure /hfs/help/images/mac-restore4.png []

  10. You will receive a confirmation message that the restore has then finished; click OK.

    Figure /hfs/help/images/mac-restore5.png []

  11. You will then see a brief summary:

    Figure /hfs/help/images/mac-restore6.png []

  12. The number of files inspected and restored should be identical, and the number of those failed should be zero.
    • If the number of files failed is greater than zero, then please review the section below titled 5. More information about restoring data to check for your error message(s).
    • If the number of files failed items is zero, then this indicates a successful restore of your data.

If you have restored to a new machine then there are some tasks that need to be completed: please see the section 2.1. Tidying up after restoring to a new machine.



5. More information about restoring data

Restoring Data FAQ (See all FAQs)