3. Recovering previous versions/deleted data

If you have deleted a file from your machine that had previously been backed up then it may well still be available to restore. Similarly, if you have modified and saved a file which has subsequently been backed up, then you may still be able to restore the earlier version of the file.

  1. Run TSM (Mac users must select [TSM Tools for Administrators]).
  2. Click on Restore.
  3. Click on [View] and then chose [Display active/inactive files].
  4. You will now be able to see files both active and inactive files - inactive files can be identified by as file with an "x" next to them.
    Figure 1.
  5. Now please follow the instructions for restoring files and folders.

For more information on active/inactive files please see our FAQ item What are active and inactive files?.

Up: Contents Previous: 2. Restoring to a new machine Next: 4. Restoring files and folders