2. Restoring to a new machine

If you are upgrading to a new machine, using the TSM client software to move your data from one machine to another can be a convenient way to move data to the new machine. If you can no longer access the data on your old machine (e.g. because it has been lost or stolen, or because its hard drive is no longer working) then a TSM restore is the way to get your data back. In either case, before proceeding, please read our page on how to recover your entire system.

The first thing to check is that you are moving data between two similar operating systems. For example, moving data from a Windows XP machine to a Windows 7 machine is not likely to be problematic; but TSM does not support cross-platform restores, so you cannot restore Mac or Windows data to a Linux machine. If you are moving between different types of operating systems please contact hfs@ox.ac.uk and let us know what you are trying to achieve; we will then advise you on the best course of action.

If you are moving between two similar Windows operating systems then please do the following:

  1. If possible, ensure that you have an up-to-date backup of the old machine - this can be done by following the instructions for completing a manual backup.
  2. Ensure that the new machine is itself registered for the TSM backup service and that it has the TSM client software installed and working - this can be done by following our instructions on getting started.
  3. With both old and new machines registered we now need to know whether they are registered on the same HFS server.
    • Browse to the TSM self-registration page.
    • You should see at least two nodes registered to you, your old node and your new node - there may be others if you have multiple nodes.
    • Select your old node and click Submit.
    • Make a note of the details next to the Server entry - it should be in the format of OX_HFS_B#.
    • Click on the View details of another client button.
    • Select your New Node and click Submit.
    • Make a note of the details next to the Server entry- it should be in the format of OX_HFS_B#.
    • Compare the two server details:

2.1. Both accounts are on the same server

If both the old and new nodes are registered with the same HFS server, follow these instructions.

  1. On the new machine create a new shortcut on the desktop by right-clicking on the desktop and selecting [New] and then [Shortcut].
  2. For the Item Location box, copy and paste the text highlighted below but DO NOT click Next.
    "C:\Program Files\tivoli\TSM\baclient\dsm.exe" -virtualnodename=OLDNODE
  3. Change OLDNODE to be the old node name of the client whose data you wish to restore.
  4. Now click Next.
  5. Type a name for this shortcut such as Temp TSM Client and then click Finish.
  6. Double-click on the shortcut you have just created.
  7. You will be prompted to enter a password - this is the TSM password for your old node.
  8. You will now see a normal TSM client view and you can follow the normal instructions for restoring files and folders - However, please note these limitations:
    • You will not be able to "Restore files to their current location";
    • You will have to select "Restore files to an alternative location".
  9. Now please follow the instructions for restoring files and folders.

2.2. Both accounts are on different servers

If the old and new nodes are registered with different HFS servers, follow these instructions.

  1. Browse to the TSM self-registration page
  2. You should see at least two nodes registered to you, your old node and your new node - there may be others if you have multiple nodes.
  3. Select your old node and click Submit.
  4. Make a note of the details next to the Server IP Name and Server Port.
  5. Now on the new machine browse to C:\Program Files\Tivoli\TSM\baclient\.
  6. Copy the file dsm.opt from this location to the root (top level) of C:\.
  7. Rename this file from dsm.opt to dsm-temp.opt - this is to distinguish it from the original dsm.opt.
  8. Double-click on dsm-temp.opt; by default Windows will not recognise the file type, so when prompted select [Select a program from list] and click OK.
  9. From the list of programs chose Notepad and click OK.
  10. Then dsm-temp.opt will open in Notepad.
  11. Find the line that starts
    TCPServeraddress
    and replace the entry that appears directly after that with the Server IP Name detail you noted earlier.
  12. Find the line that starts
    TCPPort
    and replace the entry that appears directly after that with the Server Port detail you noted earlier.
  13. On the new machine create a new shortcut on the desktop by right-clicking on the desktop and selecting [New] and then [Shortcut].
  14. For the Item Location box, copy and paste the text highlighted below but DO NOT click Next.
    "C:\Program Files\tivoli\TSM\baclient\dsm.exe" -virtualnodename=OLDNODE -optfile="c:\dsm-temp.opt"
  15. Change OLDNODE to be the old node name of the client whose data you wish to restore.
  16. Now click Next.
  17. Type a name for this shortcut such as Temp TSM Client and then click Finish.
  18. Double-click on the shortcut you have just created.
  19. You will be prompted to enter a password - this is the TSM password for your old node.
  20. You will now see a normal TSM client view and you can follow the normal instructions for restoring files and folders - However, please note these limitations:
    • You will not be able to "Restore files to their current location";
    • You will have to select "Restore files to an alternative location".
  21. Now please follow the instructions for restoring files and folders.

2.3. Tidying up after restoring to a new machine

If you have restored to a new machine then there are some tasks that need to be completed: only perform these tasks when you have finished restoring data from the old node, and it is no longer required.

Tidying up the new node

  • If you created a dsm-temp.opt file then browse to the root of your C:\ drive and delete the file.
  • If you created a temporary shortcut on your desktop (the suggested name was Temp TSM Client), then delete that shortcut.

Tidying up the old node

  • Remove the TSM client by following the TSM removal instructions; this will not apply if the machine crashed/failed and cannot be used.
  • Deregister the old node by following the deregistration instructions.

Up: Contents Previous: 1. Why are you restoring data? Next: 3. Recovering previous versions/deleted data