There may be times when a desktop or even a laptop may take on a role that requires more frequent backups than the weekly backups offered by the standard desktop backup schedule. The options available will depend on whom the node is registered to:
- Run frequent manual backups as required - any HFS user can run manual backups as and when required.
- Request to be moved from the weekly backup schedule to the daily backup schedule. This option is only
available to nodes registered to IT support staff and only available if the client is now acting as a server in some capacity.
- If you are not ITSS registered and it is essential that this node is scheduled to backup daily, and is now acting as a server, then you can transfer ownership of the node to your local ITSS, who can then manage the node (you may remain as contact, but not account owner). Please speak to your local ITSS to discuss this further.
Backups for the daily backup service for servers are stored on physically different machines from those managing the weekly desktop backup service. For this reason our general approach is not to move the backups but rather to keep any existent backups and allow the machine to make fresh backups to the other server. Once this is completed, the node and old backups on the desktop server are deleted.
- First, ensure that you have current backups of the machine you wish to move on the desktop backup server - this is just good practice, and there is no risk involved in moving from weekly to daily backups. If necessary run a manual backup before proceeding.
- Login to the registration pages and choose the
Move a computer from weekly to daily backupoption - this option is only available to registered ITSS. Then select the machine(s) to be moved. The process will transparently re-register the selected machine(s) for the daily backup service.
- The HFS Team will receive notification of the move and will manually lock access to the current backups for the machine(s) on the desktop backup server - this is to ensure that fresh backups go to the daily backup server.
- Disable and delete any TSM scheduler
services running as these will need to be reconfigured later. Please follow the appropriate instructions depending on
whether you are running Windows, Mac or Linux:
- Windows: use our delete services program as follows:
- Mac: follow our Mac instructions for stopping the TSM scheduler.
- Linux: follow our Linux instructions for stopping the TSM scheduler.
- You will need to configure the client to point to the TSM daily backup server. The location of
the configuration files can be found in the table below:
dsm.opt; on Mac and Linux machines it is
dsm.sys. It must be edited as follows:
From either: TCPServeraddress dsmb1.ox.ac.uk TCPPort 1500 Or: TCPServeraddress dsmb3.ox.ac.uk TCPPort 1600 Or: TCPServeraddress dsmb5.ox.ac.uk TCPPort 1700 Or: TCPServeraddress dsmb7.ox.ac.uk TCPPort 1800 To: TCPServeraddress dsmb8.ox.ac.uk TCPPort 2800Save the file and test connectivity by running TSM.
- Now start to manually back up the machine to the new TSM server. Remember that TSM will now recognise this machine as a new machine and therefore the backup may take a while. Pay particular attention to sending less than 200GB per day to the TSM server.
- Once you have run a manual backup over the required local filestore, but not before, you can configure and start automated scheduled backups.
- Follow the instructions for setting up scheduled backups for Windows, for Mac or for Linux/Unix.
- Finally, and importantly, once it is clear that the machine is backing up successfully in its scheduled window (daily), please contact us again at email@example.com to let us know that we can delete the old backups on the desktop TSM server.