IT Services



Nexus Mailbox Restore


Contents



1. Overview

Nexus mailbox backups run every night, 7 days a week.

If you require data restored to a mailbox for any reason you will need to specify when the missing data was last present in the mailbox.

For a detailed description regarding backup policy please see Nexus (Exchange) service description, section 2.3, Backup and Recovery service.

http://www.oucs.ox.ac.uk/internal/sld/nexus-exchange.xml

When a mailbox restore is requested usually an entire copy of the mailbox from the requested date is placed in a temporary folder in your mailbox.

Please note that all data restored to your mailbox will be placed in a separate folder (no data is restored to your live mail folders) format as follows:

Recovery/Recovered Data – display name – date/time written to mailbox

Figure images/restore.png [Example mailbox restore location in Outlook]

Figure images/restoreOWAview.png [Example mailbox restore location in Outlook Web App]

Please ensure that you have expanded the 'Recovery' folder AND the 'Recovered Data ...' folders as shown above.

So you will find a complete copy of all your folders within that location from the agreed restore date (so Inbox, Sent Items, Calendar, Contacts etc).

In order to accommodate the extra volume it is usually necessary to increase your mailbox quota to allow for this, please note that this is temporary and only done in order to allow you to move the data you require back to your live mailbox folders.

NOTE: It is your responsibility to merge the data placed in the mailbox in the restore process back to your live mail folders within a reasonable time.

Much of the data restored may be duplicated in your live mail folders, you will need to move that which you require and delete the remainder to allow your mailbox quota to be reverted to that to which you are entitled.

You may be given a deadline after which your quota will be returned to its usual level. Before that date, you must move any useful email from the 'Recovery' folder back into your live folders, and make a hard delete on the 'Recovery' folder when complete. A hard delete can be carried out using shift-delete (depending on your email software), or by a normal delete followed by an emptying of your Deleted Items folder.

Please make sure you complete this by the deadline, otherwise your use of the email service could be effectively suspended.