4. Assigning tasks to others

In addition to using Nexus Tasks to manage your own work, you can also set up tasks to be preformed by others who are also using Nexus. This is called making a Task request. For example, if you are the manager of a project, you may want to set up tasks and assign them to other people in the group. You will also be able to keep track of how the work is progressing.

The process of creating a task request is similar to creating a task for yourself. The main difference is that you assign the task to somebody else, who will then receive an email message about it with the option of accepting or declining the task. If they accept, the task is added to their task list. When they update or complete the task, an updated copy and/or a report is sent to you via email (optional).

Making a task request

  1. Open a new task request by going to the [Actions] menu and selecting [New Task Request].
    A Task request screen with some information
                                    added.
    Figure 11. Task request screen
  2. Complete information about the task, such as subject, description, due date, category and priority. If you want to be informed about changes to the task, select the appropriate option(s): Keep an updated copy of this task on my task list (the task will be on your task list and change when other people make changes) and Send me a status report when this task is complete (you will be notified when the task has been completed).
  3. Click on the To button and select the task recipient from the list that pops up.
  4. Click Send to send the task request.

The task recipient will receive an email with information about the task and can choose to accept or decline. If they accept, the task is added to their task list.

If you have opted for that, you will be notified by email when the task is updated. When you open an update email, you will see the updated task. The task updates are added to your copy of the task in your task list when you close the email message.

When a task has been completed two messages are sent to you (assuming you have selected to be notified). In addition to the update message (which updates your copy of the task with the completion details) you get a final status report on the task, providing such information as start and end dates, duration of hours, and more.

Up: Contents Previous: 3. Shared tasks Next: 5. Receiving a task request