3. Opening Other User's Calendars
To view a colleague's calendar and/or tasks your colleague must first have granted your account permission to read their calendar and/or tasks. As we have already discussed, the concept of sharing is different from delegation, which allows others to act on your behalf. However, within iCal the procedures for sharing and delegating are almost identical, and when you configure iCal to allow you to view another user's calendar it will be listed as a delegate. In other words we can think of viewing another user's calendar as acting as a delegate that only has read access.
From the iCal menu click
[File], then click
[Preferences...], and then click
Accounts button on the Accounts window that appears. Finally select the
Delegation button from within the accounts view.
+ below the "Accounts I can access:" window to start the process of adding
a new account that you wish to act as a delegate for. A new entry appears in the "Accounts I can
access:" window and the cursor is placed within the "Users" field for you to start typing the name
of the user whose account you will be accessing. As you type text into the "Users" field a list of
possible matches will appear and you can select the correct user from the list.
Once you have selected the correct user the delegate entry is completed and you will be able to see
the permissions that the user has granted to your account. In this example the owner of the
Ylva account is simply sharing their calendar and so has granted permissions to
read their calendar and their tasks.
If you add a user account that you wish to act as a delegate for before that user has added you as a delegate within their account the account entry will appear greyed out and no permissions will be displayed.
To see the shared calendar or tasks in your main iCal window you will also need to tick the check box
labelled "Show" at the start of the entry. Ticking this box means that you will see a new
Delegates section within the left hand pane of your main iCal window that list
all the accounts that have been delegated to or shared with you.