2. Restoring deleted items

When you delete a message, it will be moved into your Deleted Items folder. It will stay in that folder for 90 days from the date of deletion, before being automatically removed from the system. Beware, some email clients will automatically empty your Deleted Items folder when you log off! Check the settings for your client if you are not sure.

If you want to recover an item which is still in your Deleted Items folder, simply select the item and click Move in the toolbar above the message. Choose the folder you want to restore it to and click the Move button.

If the 90 days has expired, or if you (or your email client) already deleted the item from your Deleted Items folder, it is still possible to recover the item for a further 7 days, but you will need to log in to the full version of OWA, which requires Microsoft Internet Explorer. This is installed on the computers in the Computing Services Help Centre. Please see the instructions for recovering deleted items using OWA Full Version for details.

Up: Contents Previous: 1. Folders Next: 3. Sorting messages