5. Potential problems

5.1. Opening the Syncro Client outside of oXygen

On Windows systems you will find that after installation of oXygen onto your machine you can access the Syncro SVN client through the programs menu ([Start] > [Programs] > [Oxygen XML Editor 10] > [Syncro SVN Client]). It appears that starting the program from here is completely independent of starting it through oXygen itself. If you set up your working copy as described in this document, you will not be able to see this when starting the program through the standard Windows [Start] > [Programs] route.

5.1.1. Opening the client on a Mac

This is identical to the method outlined in section 2. Opening the Syncro SVN Client above. However, the Mac user can also add the application to the dock area by finding the application and dragging to the dock. Opening the client via the dock area is equivalent to starting the application from the Windows Start menu. Clients opened from the dock are independent of those started from within oXygen itself. Any repositories setup will only be available to you if you open the client in the same way each time.

5.2. Missing icons

Sometimes the client does not refresh the working copies folder view when a change has occurred e.g. file added or changed in some way. To force a refresh:

  • In the Working copy view go to the directory containing the changed file.
  • Select the folder and press F5
  • The folder will now be refreshed and the changed file icon should now appear on both the folder name and the actual file changed.
  • You can now submit your changed file back to the server.

5.3. File Conflicts

Occasionally you may edit a file without first updating it. In many instances this will not be a problem, even if there is a newer version of the same file in the main repository. Often Subversion can merge the different files together. However, occasionally both the file in main repository and your own modified file can conflict with each other due to edits occurring at the same place in the file. This results in your file being rejected. You will also see that there are two .rxxxx versions of the file sent back to you and that the icon overlay has changed to being a small c.

If this is the case the easiest method to deal with the conflict is to revert your file which will remove your edits, then update the file with the one from the main repository. Finally making your edits again before submitting back to the main repository. This is much the easiest way even if you have made several edits.

However, if instead you wish to sort out the conflicts, you should first compare the files. To do this:

  • Right click on the conflicted file to bring up the menu. Select [Edit Conflict] option
  • A dialogue box opens which asks you to confirm that you do want to overwrite your conflicted file. Click on OK to continue
  • The two conflicting versions of the file are now opened and can be viewed in the Edit window. The conflicting sections of your file are highlighted in pale red.
  • The file on the left is your file while that on the right is the conflicting
  • To accept the change from the other file you should click on the - icon. The change will be incorporated into your version.
  • Once you have accepted or not the changes highlighted, press the Save icon
  • Return to the Working Copy window. The file will still show the conflicting state icon and you will still see the conflicting files listed below it (.rxxxx files). To resolve the conflict, right click on the conflicted file and select [Mark Resolved]. All the .rxxxx files will be removed and your file will now show the changed file icon.
  • Commit the file in the usual manner to resolve the conflict

Up: Contents Previous: 4. Working with your files Next: 6. Using Syncro Client with OUCS maintained web sites