18. OxTALENT 2011 - Oxford’s IT in Teaching and Learning Awards

On the 28th June, OUCS hosted the annual OxTALENT awards ceremony to celebrate creative use of technology for learning, teaching, impact and outreach.

This year OUCS was decorated with balloons and flower arrangements to mark the 10th birthday of the red carpet event. The ceremony was opened by special guest speaker Anthony Geffen, winner of this year’s BAFTA for 'Specialist Factual' and Visiting Fellow of St Cross College. He spoke about his career in digital media, from student of Geography to CEO of Atlantic Productions and the possibilities that innovative and inspirational technology can provide.

Dr Dave Waters, chair of the OxTALENT committee then awarded outstanding work from staff and students from across the University in the following categories:

  • Best use of WebLearn to support a course or programme of study
  • Best use of technology in learning spaces
  • Best Use of Student IT for Learning
  • Best Research Poster
  • Best Research Digital Image
  • Use of IT for Impact and Outreach
  • Student Podcasting
  • Academic Podcasting
Photo of winners

Winners included the Department of Anthropology, recognised for its high quality academic podcasting series now available via the Oxford Podcasting Portal and iTunesU. Dr Helen Christian, Dept of Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics was awarded for her evaluation of an interactive revision session using mobile phones in WebLearn. Meanwhile, the Best Student Use of IT award went to Helen Ginn for her CMol iPhone and iPad application designed for easily viewing 3D renditions of biological molecules.

Last year’s winner of the academic podcasting prize, Dr Emma Smith of Hertford College also delivered a speech, and reflected upon the ways in which OUCS made it possible for her and others in the University to use technology to enrich teaching and learning.

Categories for the annual OxTALENT Awards are announced in Hilary term. Find out more about this year’s winning entries.

In photo, left to right: Dr Helen Christian; Hannah Kirby; Daniel Ostendorff; Leticia Uchoa; Jamie Zhan; Rev Dr James Robson; Julia Richardson; Andre Neves; Oleksandr Zhurakovskyi; Dr David Waters (OxTALENT Chair).

Up: Contents Previous: 17. RunCoCo Beyond Collections Next: 19. Bringing Oxford Politics Closer to the Subject Community