4. Restoring the Back-up

After your have reinstalled your Windows systems, restoring your data is simply the reverse of the backing up process. However, Before you restore your data, you should:

  • Create a Windows username for each user whose data is to be restored. This is done via the Windows User Accounts control panel.
  • Set Windows to show hidden files and folders via the Folder Options [View] tab.

Then copy across each the contents of each user's backup folder to the corresponding Documents and Settings folder on the Windows system's C: drive. Copy the contents of each user's folder rather than the folder itself.

{NOTE. You may want to login as each user before copying the data from the backup, because if you copy the data as some other user, the intended user may not have the correct permissions for using it.}

Up: Contents Previous: 3. What to Back Up